Noise Appeal Recordsis celebrating is tenth anniversary.
Since its inception in 2003, the collectors-label has forged a plastered trail of vinyl-documents comprised of grand and unconventional combos such as Sex on the Beach, The Striggles, Fuckhead, Hella Comet, Reflector and Sex Jams.
In January 2013 a new chapter will begin; and to honor the occasion its label-masterminds have thought of something special: A vinyl-singles-club featuring the cult-band HP Zinker.
Hans Platzgumer’s legendary grunge band was formed in 1989 in New York by two Austrians and established itself quickly in NYC’s noise scene. Without pretense, they shared the stage with such bands as Sonic Youth, Ween, Helmet, Lemonheads and the Jon Spencer Blue Explosion. J Mascis drummed with them, Evan Dando sang with them and every month they played the stage of 1CBGB’s. Two now-legendary US Indie labels were founded just for them. Both Matador and Thrill Jockey’s 001 catalogue numbers are HP Zinker records. In 1990 they signed with the London-based label Fire Records, which went on to become Domino Records. They released five studio albums, countless singles bootlegs and even received a Grammy nomination.
In 1994, after five turbulent years of endless touring and drug excesses Zinker broke up in the middle of a European tour. To this day Hans Platzgumer has vehemently refused a reunion. His autobiographical novel “Expedition. Die Reise eines Underground-Musikers in 540 KB“ (Innsbruck, Skarabaeus, 2005) conjures up many escapades of HP Zinker.
Most Zinker releases are no longer available. Offering remedy to this deplorable state of affairs, comes Noise Appeal’s limited edition subscription-only HP Zinker-Reissue-Box.
Over the course of 2013, on a bimonthly basis, 7” singles including every essential song and curated by Hans Platzgumer himself will arrive accompanied by additional bonus material in the form of reproduced flyers, photographs, stickers and buttons. All artwork is silk-screen printed by Noise Appeal and Yummy Store with minute care.
The subscription is available for 49,90€ (excl. shipping costs) and paid upfront. Please contact: or visit the Noise Appeal webstore.
On January 17th, 2013 the box will be launched at Vienna Rhiz where Hans Platzgumer will reinterpret songs by HP Zinker. He will be joined on stage by Rainer Krispel (Seven Sioux, Musikarbeiter) und Didi Bruckmayr (Fuckhead), The Who The What The Yeah, GD Luxxe and many more.
In 2002 Hans formed Convertible, a largely accoustic trio that keeps the spirit of HP Zinker alive. The 5th and latest album by Convertible will be released simultaneously by the Viennese Label Konkord.
On ‚The Growing of Things’ Hans Platzgumer continues his tradition of proliferating silence. In the face of complicated string arrangements and a perfectly harmonizing band every redundant tone is spared. Twelve songs testify to his decade long experience as a formidable songwriter.

The tracklist of the Ultimate Collection
HP ZINKER Singles Box 1989 – 1994

A1: A Million Sparks Are Riding My Mind (3:39) (from ‚Perseverance’, 1992)
A2: Sunshine (3:26) (from ‚The Sunshine EP’, 1991)
B1: Down In The Basement (6:38) (from ‚And There Was Light’, 1989)

A1: Trapped (2:58) (from ‚Perseverance’, 1992)
A2: Mysterious Girl (2:53) (from ‚Perseverance’, 1992)
B1: Flug Nach Alpha Centauri (3:24) (from ‚Hovering’, 1991)
B2: The Last Hug (3:29) (from ‚Mysterious Girl EP’, 1992)

A1: The Breed (2:46) (from ‚Mountains Of Madness’, 1994)
A2: Woman Is Away (2:08) (from ‚Mountains Of Madness’, 1994)
B1: Good Times (4:55) (from ‚Mountains Of Madness’, 1994)

A1: I Don’t Know What’s Going On (5:17) (from ‚Beyond It All’, 1990)
B1: Die Todesdroge (4:37) (from ‚Beyond It All’, 1990)
B2: Sunbeam First Ave (1:20) (from ‚Beyond It All’, 1990)

A: Reason (4:10) (from ‚Perseverance’, 1992)
B: Mirror (4:37) (from ‚Perseverance’, 1992)

A: Fish Are Burning (4:37) (from ‚Hovering’, 1991)
B: Birch (4:00) (from ‚Mountains Of Madness’, 1994)

+ USB memory stick: The Shack, Das Testament, Our Precious Love, To One In Paradise, Sip Of Death, Fortress Of Fears, Now That You’re Gone, Desperate Moves.
+ Live videos of concerts in the USA and Europe.